Office of the City Clerk


2016 Special Election "History"


Following Mayor Fisk's passing in November 2015, Deputy Mayor Mary Becker stepped in to the role of Mayor.


At its regular meeting on December 21, the Assembly voted to call for a special election to elect a Mayor for the remainder of Mayor Fisk's term (until October, 2018) and to solicit interested applicants to fill the vacancy in the District 1 Assembly seat created when Mayor Becker took office.


The Assembly held a Special Meeting on Tuesday, January 12, 2016 and appointed its newest member, Barbara Sheinberg, to the vacant Assembly District 1 seat, until Mayor Becker returns to her District 1 Assembly Seat, as she chose not to run for the Mayor in the March 15 Special Election.


 New District 1 Assemblymember Appointed - Barbara J. Sheinberg

 January 12, 2016 Press Release


CBJ Charter 3.4 (d) provides:      "No assemblymember, other than an incumbent mayor, may be a candidate for mayor unless the assemblymember first resigns from the assembly or unless the assemblymember's term ends concurrently with that of an incumbent mayor. A candidate for the office of mayor may not be a candidate for another assembly position in the same election."


Karen Crane resigned from the Assembly on January 20, 2016 and filed a declaration of candidacy for the Office of Mayor in the March 15 Special Election.


At a Special Meeting on January 25, 2016, the Assembly directed that interested applicants be solicited to fill the vacancy in the District 2 Assembly seat created upon Ms. Crane's resignation. At a Special Meeting on February 10, the Assembly appointed Jamie Lynn Bursell to fill the vacant District 2 seat until October 2016.


New District 1 Assemblymember Appointed - Jamie Lynn Bursell

February 11, 2016 Press Release


Mayor Election - Special Election March 15

Click Here for Information about the March 15, 2016 Special Election