Sister Cities Committee Fact Sheet

Title: Sister Cities Committee

Type of Board/Commission/Committee: Advisory

Affiliated Department: City Clerk

Status: Active

Governing Legislation:
-Resolution 2716
-Date Created: September 08, 2008
-Sunset Date: N/A

To reference the general rules of procedure and informational booklet for all boards, please see the documents available on the General Board Information page.

Description: The Sister Cities Committee Advises and assists the Assembly with respect to the CBJ's ongoing sister cities relationship, hosting foreign guests, and promotion of international relations. This is a seven-member committee which encourages participation from the general public in its meetings and activities.

Membership: Section 1. Sisters Cities Committee. (a) Committee established. There is established a Sister Cities Committee for the City and Borough of Juneau. The committee shall consist of seven public members appointed by the Assembly to serve for 3-year staggered terms.

Officers: Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer

Quorum: 4

Term Limits: None

Annual Appointment Period (Annual Reports Due): January

Meetings: The committee meets approximately once a month - dates for the next meeting are determined at each meeting held. Please click on the "Calendar" link in the gold menu bar at the top of this page to find out more.

Special Facts: Juneau's Sister Cities are: ~ Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada ~ Municipality of Kalibo, Province of Aklan, Philippines ~ Chai Yi City, Taiwan, China ~ Vladivostock, Russia ~ Mishan City, Heilongjiang Province, People's Republic of China

Staff Contact: City Clerk's Office - 586-5278 -