Search Library Catalog

About Us

The Juneau Public Libraries are a department of the City and Borough of Juneau. The Juneau Public Libraries have three branches: the downtown Juneau Public Library (located atop the parking garage on the waterfront), the Mendenhall Valley Public Library (located in Diamond Park) and the Douglas Public Library (located in the Douglas Community Building, a shared facility with the Fire Department). Library staff offices are located at the downtown branch.

The Juneau Public Libraries are part of the Joint Library Consortium, which includes the three Juneau Public Libraries, the Anchorage Public Libraries, the University of Alaska-Southeast Egan Library, the University of Alaska-Anchorage library system, the Alaska State Library, the Kettleson Memorial Library (Sitka), the Petersburg Public Library, and the Sealaska Heritage Institute. A card obtained at any one of these facilities will allow you to check out materials at all facilities. (The Sealaska Heritage Institute is a non-circulating research library.)


Mission Statement

The Juneau Public Libraries are the open door to exploration and lifelong learning, providing free access to shared resources and programs that entertain, enlighten and educate. 

Additional Information