City and Borough of Juneau
155 S. Seward Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
tel. 907-586-5240
fax 907-586-5385

Juneau Affordable Housing Commission



History & Mission

On December 2, 2006, the Assembly held an Affordable Housing Summit in a joint meeting of the CBJ Assembly, Planning Commission, and the Affordable Housing Coalition. As an outcome of that Housing Summit, the Assembly adopted Resolution 2390 creating the Juneau Affordable Housing Commission. The Commission was established for a three-year period beginning January 2007 to make recommendations to the CBJ Assembly, through the Lands Committee, on all aspects of affordable housing. The Commission became a continuing CBJ Commission on November 23, 2009 with Resolution 2506 which repealed Resolution 2390.



The following is a list of the commissioners and liaisons to the commission:

  • Margaret O'Neal, Chair Mandy O'Neal Cole
    Wayne Coogan, Vice-Chair Tamara Rowcroft
    Norton Gregory, Secretary Russ McDougal
    Dave Hanna
    CBJ Liaisons: Kathleen Strasbaugh
    Assemblymember Kate Troll Honey Bee Anderson
    Chief Housing Officer Scott Ciambor

Comments for the commission should be directed to Scott Ciambor, Chief Housing Officer at, via phone at 586-0220.



Meetings are scheduled for the first Tuesday of every month at 5:15 p.m. in City Hall, Conference Room #224.  The public is welcome to attend these meetings. .


Hot Topics

City and Borough of Juneau Housing Action Plan

The Affordable Housing Commission is seeking public comment on the Draft Housing Action Plan.

The deadline for public comment is May 2nd, 2016  Please forward your comments to Scott Ciambor, Chief Housing Officer at or Beth McKibben, Planning Manager, CDD at Beth.


Draft Housing Action Plan (Full Report)

Housing Action Plan - Executive Summary

Housing Action Plan - Housing Market Challenges and Problems

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 1 Formally Adopt This Plan

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 2 Housing Trust Fund

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 3 Hire and Support Full-Time Housing Director

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 4 Production Targets

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 5 Preservation Targets

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 6 CBJ Owned Land

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 7 Zoning Changes

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 8 Small Area Plans

     Housing Action Plan - Solution 9 Downtown Strategy

           Appendix 1 - Community Survey Summary Results

           Appendix 2 - Implementing Actions Table

           Appendix 3 - czb,LLC Assembly Presentation 10.26.2015


CBJ Homeowner Accessory Apartment Incentive Grant Program

The Accessory Apartment Incentive Grant program provides $6,000 in grant funding for homeowners to add an accessory apartment to their home.

CBJ Homeowner Accessory Apartment Incentive Grant Program


Items of Interest

Juneau Affordable Housing Needs Assessment 2012

Juneau Affordable Housing Needs Assessment 2010

2013 Juneau Affordable Housing Commission Priority/Task List

Switzer Lands Development Study

Pederson Hill Land Development Study

Juneau Affordable Housing Fund

JEDC - link to housing information


CBJ Image